My App Creation: CoffeeNOW

Screen Shot 2013-03-17 at 11.42.26 PM

For this week in EID100, we had to do our Practical Application Activity #2, which involved designing our very own informational web apps.

Here’s a simple breakdown of how I came to my creation: CoffeeNOW –

First, I looked back at the Powerpoint slides that our instructor had sent out, to get a better sense of the characteristics to include.

Then I thought of the type of app I’d be interested in, as a consumer. So the areas I narrowed it down to were: fashion, entertainment and coffee. Since I wanted to make it more localized to downtown Toronto, I chose coffee.

What I wanted to create was an app that would show the different coffee shop options for someone on-the-go.

I wanted it to be simple and easily accessible for anyone in the city. There is a section called “KnowThoseLogos”, which features various coffee shop logos, so you can get familiar with them if you ever come across them while walking around the city.

I also included a section with music recommendations; albums that go perfectly with your cup of coffee and are sure to put you in a happy mood. Plus a section with a list of some hidden hotspots – some of those hip, trendy coffee shops you might want to check out.

Screen Shot 2013-03-17 at 11.42.39 PM Screen Shot 2013-03-17 at 11.42.51 PM Screen Shot 2013-03-17 at 11.43.03 PM

Check it out for yourself here:

http://myapp.is/CoffeeNOW

Leave a Reply

